Camillus knife

Hello Everyone,
I am usually in the Buck forum but found an old Camillus Knife in my fathers tool chest and a member sent me here. Said I can get more info about this knife here. First I know it's old.Maybe someone can help? They also said the second knife tip is NOT broken? It has wooden scales, which the other person in Buckland said they were plastic.

73dd7b0a-bf07-4e52-b4ed-214f8c4195e7_zpsiokm4fcf.jpg

Last edited:
You are correct in that this an old knife: a wooden handled electrician knife. The secondary blade is a wire stripper and (flat head) screwdriver and should lock up when fully open. Neither blade is broken and the overall condition of the knife is good for its age. I'm curious to know if the liner lock in the knife pictured is brass. If not, I'd bet it was produced during WWII. I'm no expert, and hope someone will jump in to correct me should I be mistaken about anything that I've posted.

Thank You citytransplant,
I did not know what the piece of metal in the center was until I opened the wire stripper all the way and then could not close it but it locks up good and is a bear to open. Now the blade opens and closes freely,It most likely needs cleaning, is that right? The liner lock is not brass. My father was in WW 2 after that was a machinist and this was in his tool chest many many years. I would like to learn anything there is about the knife, mostly date wise I cleaned the tang and it says Camillus Cutlery Co. Camillus N.Y. U.S.A. that's it. I cleaned up the blade with some oil and it removed the rust. It looks much better than when I took the pictures.

Camillus%20Knife%20002_zpsj0zl3kmj.jpg

Camillus%20Knife%20001_zpsoggx0b55.jpg

Last edited:
The tang stamp style is known as a "4-line" Camillus.