First Reate to buy?

sharp_edge

Gold Member
Greetings, Reate knife owners,

I have been thinking about purchasing a Reate folder for quite a while but have not made up my mind with which one. I am not planning to do crazy things with it - just want to gain some first-hand experience of Reate knives through fondling and maybe light EDC. My budget would be $400 top. FYI, I'm not a newbie to knives, in particular flippers (ZT, Hinderer, etc.). Thx in advance.

I started with the Hills. A great flipper and solid knife at a reasonable price level.

Then, the District 9 plus, a monster of a knife and great flipper. Then, the Horizon C, another bigger knife and smooth flipper-really a solid knife, too.

Finally, the Wave which is my favorite. A great size for EDC and the best flipper of all knives that I have. It flips so well that the day that I received it, my wife took it out of the box before I held it and flipped it easily and she cannot flip any knife!! I really love the Wave!!

I have many of the ZT flippers and these all flip better than all except the 0900 and 0450 which flip really well.

To experience a Reate on a budget, you can't go wrong with a Hills. At the price they sell, they're an incredible value.

If you step up the price a bit more you can reach a Horizon C or D9+. I think I'd suggest the C over the D9+ because it's a little lighter and more pocket friendly.

If you want to max out your budget you can look at the Horizon D (I prefer the CF version if you can find it), the Wave or the Torrent. Also at the top of your budget you can start to consider some of Liong Mah Reates and Todd Begg Reates. I've got a bunch of Reates and love them all, although I still wait for a 3" blade...

Pick a look and style you like and go for it; you won't be disappointed.