I had quadruple bypass surgery 5\24\17. Any one here with experience? This mine.

FOG2

Gold Member
I had a heart cath done and was told I have major blockages requiring surgery. I am curious if any one here has had it done and your experience and or advice. Mine is being done this coming Wednesday.

I have no first hand experience, but my father had a triple bypass about 16 years ago, probably the only reason he is still around. His surgery went well enough, but there were complications that required them to open him up a second time, and he had a major stroke on the table. He recovered much better than the doctors thought he could, I think just to prove to them that they didn't know what they were talking about.

I had five bypasses 23 years ago at age 48. Strong family history of heart attack deaths, so my genetics are stacked against me, but I was inactive and obese. First the good news, you get to sleep through the whole thing.

Number one tip: They will give you a fat round pillow post-surgery. You will come to cherish it. Hug it tightly before you sneeze or cough. If they don't give you one, get one.