Information on USN KA-BAR sought.

I found this Kabar covered by dirt, under a house about 20 years ago. I just recently came across it again in my garage and was going to use it as a camping / utility knife. I tried Googling it as USN KABAR and found my way to this forum. I have not found much info with its specific configuration.

Unless it is of significant value ($100.00 or more) and better off with a collector, I will use it as a working knife.

The specifics are:

7 inch blade

5 inch handle

Blade in marked with KA-BAR on the left side only.

The blade side of the guard is marked USN on the left and right sides.

There are no other markings on the knife

I am no expert, but the blade appears to be blued like a gun finish, though I may be wrong.

No sheath.

Handle appears to be leather washers.

Condition is good and looks to be unmolested and in original condition.

Any information and value is appreciated. Thanks!

IMG_2155.jpg

IMG_2156.jpg

IMG_2157.jpg

IMG_2158.jpg

IMG_2159.jpg

IMG_2160.jpg

IMG_2163.jpg

IMG_2164.jpg

IMG_2165.jpg

IMG_2166.jpg

Looks similar to a WW2 that I used to run around with as a kid, but that had the sheath..

Seen them go for ballpark of 200$ in worse condition leather handles with the sheath on Ebay, bc well, you can really do whatever you want on Ebay as long as someone wants to buy it right?

I would use it if I were you and not worry about hurting that solid steel workhorse.

I wish that I could get my hands on the one I had as a kid just to use the heck out of, I love that knife and it seems just, more solid than the modern ones.

If you really want some info on it, I'd suggest posting in the AskTooj section, I gather that he's great with that kinda of stuff, giving dates and specks, and keeps up with the post:
http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php/872443-Ask-Toooj

WWII USN KA-BAR with peened on butt cap. Condition appairs to be fair. Sheath would have been green fiberglass.