Is 80crv2 a good beginners steel

I'm pretty new to knife making and am trying to harden with a small gas forge. I have been using 1084 but would like to have other options. Is this a steel I can use easily without a oven?

80CRV2 is kinda forgiving steel when it come to HT. There are plenty of makers who got great result with difference range of temperature from 1500F to 1575F

Yes, it is a good forging steel and takes tough knives. HT at 1550-1575F with a 5 minute hold, and temper at 400F.

I only have atwo brick forge and canola oil for HT, so 1084 is ideal for me. But when I ran out of 1084 for a bit, I tried 15N20 and liked the result. I liked it so much that I have both steels in hand right now. Only issue is that 15N20 doesn't tend to be available in thicker stock if you're making thicker blades.

When I fist started I was in a similar spot (although I used coal instead of gas at first). I used 80crv2 and 15n20. You if you already use 1084 maybe just stick with that because it is very similar to 80crv2. I would recommend that once you run out of 1084, then buy some 80crv2. You won't have any trouble with HT, and the results are very good.

Another recommendation would be to try out some 1075 from NJ Steel Baron. That is a good steel to get into hamons if you become interested in that. 1075 is similar to 15n20 just no nickel and less manganese.

It's a good idea to try out different steels that are similar in make up to steels you already know. So if you want to try some different steels go for 80crv2 and some 1075.

Good luck!

Personally, I would choose 1084 over 1075 BECAUSE it has more manganese.
When I fist started I was in a similar spot (although I used coal instead of gas at first). I used 80crv2 and 15n20. You if you already use 1084 maybe just stick with that because it is very similar to 80crv2. I would recommend that once you run out of 1084, then buy some 80crv2. You won't have any trouble with HT, and the results are very good.