Knife abuse

I am a plumber.
I use a knife everyday at work be it to open a package with parts or to debur cut pipe.
I use a cheap camillus Aus8 folder as my beater cause I don't want to ruin my spyderco or zt knives.
Just want to hear from other people in the trades out there or anyone that uses their knives heavily. And what knives do you recommend.

On a side note: who else uses their pants or steering wheel (joe) to test sharpness. Hehe

Thanks
Andy

Attachments

• IMG_0810.JPG
    IMG_0810.JPG
    161.2 KB · Views: 81
I'm a cnc programmer / machinist and will use my knife usually the 804cf or 0920 to scrap aluminum off of carbide inserts on cutters when it builds up. Occasional boxes, plastic and lunch as well.

when I am doing electrical, general carpentry I always have my dragonfly salt Se on me. The serrations almost never dull and can rip through very tough materials, hard plastics, zip ties, cut open dry wall packs, the rounded back is idea for helping to back our drywall screws if you miss a stud. The tip is percise for stipping wires quickly and trimming back the outer shielding, especially on the thicker gauge stuff.
Cant rust and when its covered in dirt and sand a quick rinse cleans it right out. Love them.

My usual work EDC's are a Bark River Gunny Hunter or Essential EDC (I went through a Barkie phase for a while), depending on whether I'm working in a town with a length limit. Mostly they get used for unpacking material (cardboard, plastic, etc), but I also use them on pipe insulation and jacket if I need to, and occasionally to separate gaskets from flange faces. I do keep a strop in the side pocket of my lunchbox to touch it up.

I haven't had the guts to try that with my new Microtech yet...