Machete or Sword?

My friends and I were trying to figure out if this cutting tool is either a machete or a sword. I'm pretty sure I know what it is, but I'd love to here y'alls decisions. Also if you'd like to describe why it is either one that would be great. Thanks everyone!

Right click on the "?" and "Open Image in New Tab"
image_zps8mt0rlhv.jpg.html

Last edited:
I am no expert, but nothing about the profile and build says machete to me.

Short sword. Not blade shape for a machete, not enough belly, handle not right for machete.

Paul

a sword that is designed for use as a machete. Among other things...

The problem with defining something as a machete or sword is that the terms refer more to the application rather than the specific design of the weapon/tool and many examples, such as "pioneer" or "engineer" sidearms are designed to do both.

n2s

Some of my favorite types of blades are basically both at once, not2sharp. :]

This thing is a weapon that happens to also do way more than any normal machete that's made only for dealing with light vegetation. A machete doesn't need or have a large, complex full hilt with titanium handguard, or strong blade that's shaped to be able to parry and absorb violent impacts from oblique angles. It gets tested on lumber; similarly, a Japanese sword isn't a bamboo clearing tool, even though it can be tested on bamboo! :D

Just because people can "sword fight" with machetes doesn't mean they wouldn't get cleared away like brush by a fighter with a large and purpose-built sword.

e5121925795939184364aa4c025980b9.jpg

Millions have been killed in Africa and around the world in recent years by humble machetes. Don't underestimate what these tools can do aganst unarmored opponents.

n2s

That Rwanda genocide is beyond belief. The year before, the Rwandan government imported $750,000 worth of new machetes from China. Probably $2. each.