Making knives in Sheffield 200 years ago

This is an excerpt from the cutlery section of The Cyclopaedia; or Universal Dictionary of Arts, Sciences, and Literature. (1820) by Abraham Rees, D.D. F.R.S. F.L.S. S.Amer.Soc. with the assistance of eminent professional gentlemen.

I tried a search (particularly posts from Jack Black) to see if it had been posted previously but I'm still learning the new search and may have missed something. I apologize if it is a repost.

The text on Google Books is a bit awkward to read because of the low quality scan and also because of the typeface. Some of the "s" look like "f"... not all of them... maybe half. So I edited it. I also left out parts on razors, table cutlery, and scissors as well as the detailed description of the grinders. I found those sections incredibly interesting so I'd recommend pulling up the full text on Google Books if you want to read those sections. You can also use the original to check any errors in my "translation"! The text and figures are in separate volumes.

CUTLERY. Under, this head we shall comprise the articles knives, forks, razors, and scissors. They are all either made of steel or of iron, with steel to form the edge.

Three kinds of steel are made use of in the manufacture of different articles of cutlery, viz. common steel, shear steel, and cast-steel; these different kinds are made from what is termed blistered steel, which has hitherto been.
obtained of good quality only from certain kinds of bar iron brought from Sweden and Russia.