need some advice on stitching repair

Hello all:

Looking for some advice on the repair this sheath needs. What happened is the blade of the knife got between the leather and cut the stitching. Despite the fact that I have NO EXPERIENCE WORKING WITH LEATHER, I am going to attempt to repair it myself (with the help of BF experts and YouTube). I figure I have to remove all the white thread that is there and replace it all. I do have a few questions I hoped you all could assist me with so I do this properly. Thanks in advance for your help.

Questions:

1) Should I glue the leather before stitching?

2) What should I use? Thread, Sinew? About how much will I need? I see there are two rows of holes and the sheath is about 7” in length. I will probably use a color similar to the leather.

3) What stitch should I use? Preferably something easy that I can find a tutorial for on YouTube.

pictures below show the damage on both sides and profile.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Cosmo

Do you have a picture of the knife?
If I were you I would get a more dense piece of leather and replace the welt.
I would also remove all the thread and stich it again.

It looks like the sheath hasn't been boned enough and the knife has been able to or has been pushed down into the sheath far enough to cut the stitching. If it was me I would re shape and re bone the sheath and make sure the welt is glued all the way before re stitchin. By re boning the sheath the knife should not be able to get pushed down into it far enough to cut through the welt and the stitching. I do my sheaths with hot wax which sets the leather almost like kydex ahd the boning holds the desired shape.

New here and not an expert but hobbits. Here is a site that has a tutorial http://beebeknives.com/ If your will pay shipping you can send it to me and I will resew it for ya I will added a new piece to prevent the blade for cutting your threads

I'd restitch it with saddlemaker stitch.
stitching.jpg