New to Leatherwork

Hello to all. I recently found this sheath forum. Seems like a great place with some fantastic craftsman.
This is my first attempt working with leather. I decided I would make a sheath for my throwing knife. I tried to create a pseudo inlay with the one matting stamp I purchased. I have minimal tools that were bought from Harbor Freight, Etsy, and Ebay.
The most expensive items were the Seiwa diamond chisels and the 8-9 ounce Herman Oak leather. The copper washers were cut from 18 gauge plate and cut out with a jewelers saw, then spun down to size with my cordless drill against a 1X30" belt sander. Copper rod was hand peened to create the pins on the knife sheath. The sheath color was mixed to get a different shade of brown with Fiebings pro dye, Black, saddle tan, walnut, and mahogany. Unfortunately I don't have a lot of money, hence my homemade Harbor freight stitching pony. I hope to continue working with leather as time and funds permit. Any thought and comments would be appreciated.
Thanks

FRSQYGG.jpg
[/IMG]
KyqmAMW.jpg
[/IMG]
rQ2uw4U.jpg
[/IMG]
FQWfRN3.jpg
[/IMG]
doMyuNV.jpg
[/IMG]
72ywHSs.jpg
[/IMG]

Last edited:
Your name most certainly suits you. I think that has to be the best first sheath I've ever seen. Hard to see the stitches very well on the front but they appear to be even and the edges are very well done. The only thing I would change is to lose the rivets, but that is entirely personal preference. Your stitching pony is ingenious!

When posting your links from imgur, use the BBCode link and the photos themselves will show instead of just links>
Very well done!
Chris

Yeah....what Chris said. My first sheath is not something I would ever let see the light of day.....to see something of this quality on a first try blows my mind. Good job.

Whomever you are - I don't like you.

My first effort was shite. This is not.... shit.

So....

envious.....

Jason