On the bench...Tim Knotts Knives.

T.Knotts

I'm starting this thread to show things I've just finished or have in the works. Feel free to post comments, suggestions hints, tips or just to BS. As of today (6/29/16) I've completed 4 slipjoints so, I AM NOT an expert...not even close. If I made one knife for all the materials I messed up I would be well into the double digits. But that's life, live and learn.

....On to the knives....This is one I just finished...here is a pic fresh off the bench...it hadn't even been polished yet!!

I took a few pics along the way. This isn't a WIP or tutorial..just a few pics of the journey.

...So it started out with a sketch I had done while I was working on #3 and waiting for something to dry...I'm not an artist, as the following photo attests but it gave me an idea of what I wanted....the plus side of having a crappy drawing is no matter how the real thing turns out you can say "That's what I saw in the picture!"

Now this was #4 and the first one I've done from my own design. I'm sure I've probably seen the pattern some where before but I can't remember where.

I got the blade and liners cut out and got the overall profile of how I wanted it to look.

I made a list of things I wanted to be able to do on a slipjoint and I figured this would be the perfect knife to give those things a try. I wanted to do a crescent nail nick, a shield, lanyard whole, coin edge and maybe some fancy file work on the spine....well I got all but the fancy file work.

The first slipjoint I did was a shadow pattern but it was really just thrown together just to see if I could make one but here I was trying to figure out the parts and puzzle. With this one, I wanted to use brass. Usually I am not a fan of brass but this one seemed to call for it. In this pic it shows the 5/32 washers I made from brass rod and the recess to hold them.