Prescription sunglasses

K.O.D.

Driving the expletive train
Platinum Member
It's time for a new pair, the metal around the lens of my Oakley blender random ly.

I'm extremely hard on glasses/sunglasses, as they never leave my face until I go to sleep.

I won't do metal frames again. Too easy to bend/break, they get really hot, and I hate spring hinges.

I've been wearing Oakley for at least ten years. Had two pairs of flak jacket xlj, then the blender. I'm leery to go back to Oakley due to dissatisfaction with customer service and I've heard quality has gone down hill. Maui Jim would be my first choice, but they don't accept insurance, and $600 is too much.

My insurance covers up to $140 on frames, and 20% off lenses.

I'm looking for something very durable. Here's what I'm considering:

Oakley Flak 2.0--They are durable as hell, but very ostentatious

Oakley Turbine Rotor--less ostentatious, not sure of durability and how well they stay on

My local opthalmologist also carries Nike, and I like the traverse a lot, but know next to nothing about Nike eyewear.

Other suggestions welcome, as long as insurance covers them. Thanks y'all.

I would recommend going with what you can get from your local guy. I've bought prescription sunglasses online (cheaply) and from my local opthamologist and the one that I went and tried on and got fitted for have been much better. They will make sure they fit and will be happy to refit them for you if you bend them, etc. They also handle all the lens stuff directly so no mistakes and deal with the insurance.

My online ones are okay for a back up pair but I wouldn't want to wear them for hours every day. I have very poor uncorrected vision and wear my glasses all the time so I know how important glasses are.