Rolling Review: Big Chris Pocket Fighter in CPM-10V ***Hunting content

El Bandit0

Gold Member
Initial use on a central TX Axis Deer harvest
-Graphic hunting content ahead, if you don’t like it it don’t read it
! --

*Full Disclosure: This is my first knife from Big Chris and I felt I should write an honest review of this wonderful little blade. I reached out to Chris and he gave me his blessing to share my experience and opinion with his knife here and elsewhere on the interwebs. The knife was bought secondhand from a previous owner who purchased it in used condition from Chris himself.

I recently purchased one of Big Chris’s CPM-10V Pocket Fighters secondhand on the exchange as I had been eyeing this model for several months. Chris’s eye for clean, symmetrical grinds, handle ergo’s, and willingness to integrate newer high performance CPM steels all attracted my attention over a year ago, but I bided my time and did some research on his work and what folks had to say about the blades that come out of his shop.

Color me impressed.

Now I am the first to admit that I have an addiction for custom bowie/clip point knives and have had a number of high end production and semicustom bowies pass through my hands, including one I had reground and rebuilt to my specifications only a few years back. For whatever reason, each of these knives failed to stay in my inventory for too long and I sold them off while continuing to look for the knife that would fit my uses and tastes best. I am very specific when I buy a new knife and typically it has a specialized place in my toolkit for a specific task/tasks. I was in need of a new hunting/skinning knife when I stumbled across the Pocket Fighter. 4-5 inch clip point blade? Check. Premium 10V steel? Check. Full tang? Check. Micarta Scales? Check. Quality built kydex sheath? Check. Acceptable edge geometry and grind for intended use? ABSOLUTELY!