Scored a Mamushi, need sheath

I just scored this yesterday! Very excited.

Mamushi-
3/32" (.103" ) CPM154 Tapered Tang
Thunderstorm Kevlar over Natural w/ Ruby Red G10
Natural Pinout and Lanyard Tube
OAL 8”
Blade 3 7/8”

I have been looking through all the sheath posts, but would like some personal recommendations. I'd like the possibility of both inside pocket carry, as well as on a belt (though less often). I've contacted Joufuu to see what he recommends, but what say you guys? I've never used a leather sheath before and it seems like it would go nicely with this knife, but as an edc, would kydex be better?

Last edited:
There are several leather guys out there who are regulars on the forum..Diomedes is one Joufu another. Take some time and research the forum and you'll no doubt come up with what you're looking for! Good Luck

Thanks Varga49. I think I've narrowed the leather sheaths down, and may order some kydex sheets and try my luck making my own. I seem to have lots of time at the moment.

Mamushi is pushing it for pocket carry. David Brown / Buy Brown does great custom kydex work. My mamushi rides w/diomedes industry in a custom dangler. I can't recommend any of the prefit ones at this time.

I'm not sure it would scratch Chris's cpm154. I've had kydex scratch INFI, 01, A2, Hitachi white steel, and 52100. It might scratch with a poor fit and dust in the kydex, but at this hardness I would be surprised to see kydex scratching much.

Mamushi is pushing it for pocket carry. David Brown / Buy Brown does great custom kydex work. My mamushi rides w/diomedes industry in a custom dangler. I can't recommend any of the prefit ones at this time.

I agree!! I'm shopping the same market after getting the one off Mamushi [slightly shorter handle and slightly longer blade] haven't tried it in my Diomedes [I forget the name but it's the midsisize one] that fits my Trailhand(s) but will soon...Might consider a dangler although I never liked that style too much years ago!