Swinden key benefits?

Does anyone here prefer the swinden key over pivot pins? Are their any benefits to the swinden key? And why did Schrade decide to use them on some models as opposed to pivot pins? I am just getting into the older USA made Schrade knives so please excuse my lack of knowledge on the subject:eek:

It was used to save time manufacturing. Personally, I like the Swinden key system, but I know a lot of others hate it. My old reliable 8OT that I've carried since the '70s is still as tight as the day I got it.

Thank you very much! Yes, I heard that once they get some play in them that with a swinden key, you are pretty much up poop creek. Unless you know what you are doing and can fix it yourself. But I don't think it's an easy fix as tapping a pin like with pinned construction. But alas, this is all only what I've heard, no actual experience.

Last edited:
The first Buck 'pocket' knives were contracted thru Schrade for six years. Those knives had the Swinden bolsters. I have several and view them as very good knives. They were subject to effects of over 'use' by owners and with Bucks Lifetime free warrantee statement, repairs began to back up because of the amount of work taking the knives apart.

Here you can see the bolsters tommy pins Codger spoke of above, I blame the strength of the brass liner over the actual bolster design of this method for the back bent blades.