WWII Japanese Officers Sword, any information is welcome

So my father apparently found this at a garage sale about 45 years ago, there were two, he bought only one, don't ask about the face slapping even I did at about 8 years old, I was a well seasoned antiques hunter/junker with my mom by that age and even I knew that was a mistake LOL.

Anyways, here it is, my mother gave it to my son for his 13th birthday. Any information about it is welcome. I have not removed the handle to identify any makers marks and I know it is missing the lower cover on the scabbord, it was there at one time, but maybe got lost in a move.

The blade has a fair bend about 2/3 of the way down the blade and a few nicks on the blade.

I'm no expert and was just popping in to read the thread. You may or may not know this already, so just to be safe, I'll mention that you should not clean the tang to make any inscriptions more clear. Leave it as untouched as possible. My brother in law wire brushed the oxidation off of the tang of a pretty nice WW II sword and was told that he had pretty much destroyed any substantial value the sword may have had except for a lower priced souvenir. Mike

I know there are fakes out there what I'm asking is were Chinese fakes common 45 to 50 years ago when this sword was purchased?

That I do not know, I know they have been around at least 20 years or more, I have no idea before you could order them on the internet, I would not be surprised.