1. Click here to enter the drawing for your chance to win an Ontario Knives Spec Plus SP8 Machete Survival Knife & Ka-Bar Dozier Folding Hunter, , Bladeforums.com swag or memberships!

Be sure to read the rules before entering, then help us decide next week's giveaway by hitting the poll in that thread! Entries close at midnight, Saturday Sept 7!

Once the entries close, we'll live stream the drawing on Sunday, Sept 8 at 5PM Eastern. Tune in to our YouTube channel TheRealBladeForums for a chance to win bonus prizes!

Questions? Comments? Post in the discussion thread here

2x72 belt question

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by Trauma, May 31, 2019.

1. Trauma

Trauma Gold Member Gold Member

May 26, 2019
    So, I ordered my 2x72 grinder (I know I am new to this but as I am currently hand filing my first blade, I am telling myself, this sucks) and now need to order some belts. I have done a bunch of research on belts and am left confused. I got the gist that using a 36 grit ceramic for the initial rough in then move up to 80 and 120 grit to finish the work and then make everything nice using 220 and on up. But I have also seen many people recommend using ziconium belts too. Also, for finishing work, are AO belts as good as the engineered abrasives?

But what brands are the "go to" brands? I have found some "no name" brands being sold by different websites but are they worth it?

Here are some kits I have found. Are these deals?

https://www.combatabrasives.com/collections/standardized-kits/products/2-x-72-shredder-starter-kit

https://www.preferredabrasives.com/product/2-x-72-ultimate-starter-kit/

Thanks

2. Travis Talboys

Travis Talboys

Oct 30, 2018
  3. john april

john april KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Feb 27, 2006