Recommendation? 484-1601 Nakamura - defect?

Is blade play for this model a normal occurance?

• Total voters
Hey guys,

I've just received the Benchmade 484-1601 Nakamura Axis folding knife from Knifecenter. It is their exclusive and currently on sale. The looks won me over the moment I saw it advertised so I had to buy it despite the steep price tag.

Upon first inspection the blade has a tiny yet noticeable side-to-side (horizontal?)blade play. Also, The blade is not perfectly centered.
I am new to Benchmade brand and not quite sure what to make of this.
I expected perfection for this type of money and presumably a premium quality as it is stated.
Is it normal occurrence? is it considered to be a defect? Should i ask for a replacement?
I have much cheaper pocket knives with no blade play whatsoever.

Please advise, many thanks!

Cruzo,

Last edited:
I can tell you I ordered the same model from knifecenter. Mine had a scale defect and I just returned it for a full refund. Don't settle for something you are not happy with.

If you are feeling adventurous... I imagine you can fix the blade issues. I have owned over 30 Benchmade knives... sometimes they have blade play or an un-centered blade. You will need a TR6 torx bit to adjust the pivot. Just tighten it by small increments until you are happy. To fix the centering:

1. Open blade to 90 degrees and tighten pivot so that it is really tight.
2. Close the blade and loosen frame screws so they aren't tight, but still holding the frame together.
3. While the blade is still in the closed position, pull blade towards the side you want the blade to move. In my case, I pulled the blade toward the liner/scale.
4. While pulling blade, tighten the frame screws.
5. Loosen the pivot and adjust it to the desired tension.

I've received Benchmade knives through trade and new... sometimes they arrive in less than desired state. Only 1 or two have I not been able to correct using a torx driver.

Hey guys,