A job that needs a knife...

Polzeyboy

CHEEKY BUGGER
Who here has a job that requires a decent knife?
I’m a volunteer UK HM Coastguard living right by the sea in Cornwall; it’s not my main job at all (we run a PR business) but it keeps me busy and is a good excuse to buy good torches, headtorches and knives!

I use mine a lot; in an extreme emergency it can also be a lifesaver to cut rope.

Anyway a photo.
Show us yours!

82951176_10156785940257805_4825505222887473152_o.jpg

Great pic and thanks for doing your bit to keep folks safe:)

What model of knife is that?

It's still quite early here so I dont have my knife on me to snap a picture.

In short, I'm a contractor. My "needed" knife is usually a multitool. The blades are important, but I probably use the drivers and pliers more.

I'll take a pic when I get to my office a bit later and settle in.

Interesting thread:)

Thanks! Maybe a bit early for a mostly US forum?!
It’s a newly acquired Manly Wasp S90V to replace a sadly lost Enzo PK70. So far so good.

I have a Leatherman Charge Tti and a Rebar for multitool duties; both excellent but quite bulky to slip in a pocket.
I tend to use the Rebar for MTB rides (in my backpack) and the Charge for Archery or VW camper trips. Comes in handy all the time!

Great choices for knives for sure.

Multitools are bulky. That's for sure. I think the bulk trade off shrinks when you use the thing 10 times a day. It starts to feel like necessary equipment instead of a heavy gadget. I started carrying a MT back in 1999 in college. I've spent more days with one on my hip or in my pocket than without. It's the first piece of my EDC I instinctively make sure I secure on my person when I swap out work jeans. It's the first non clothing/toiletry I make sure is stashed away in my checked baggage when flying. Lol to be honest, I get borderline panicky when I dont have one on me.

Funny what we gravitate toward:)

20200114-071701.jpg