How To A Master Welding Thread

There has been a lot of interest in welding and purchasing welders lately. I asked @Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith if we can add a master welding thread to the stickies and he said that we could. I have been involved in welding for around 20 or so years. I was a welder with certs in GMAW, SMAW, FCAW AND GTAW or MIG, Stick, Flux Core and TIG. I welded aluminum for years and then got into field welding stick steel and then tig steel and a little bit of inconel. I became a welding inspector and taught welding at Bellingham Tech in Washington state. It was a good school and I wished that I could have kept with it because I have never learned more than when I was teaching and I enjoyed it. Hopefully I have gained enough knowledge through that that something will be useful and I am going to save several slots to fill out different categories. I am going to post a second thread for questions so that we can leave this thread clean enough to find what we are looking for. I know a lot if other guys here have some very good experience and hopefully they can fill in my knowledge gaps. I want to keep this to a clean outline so I am asking that 1. Please title your post about the subject that you are sharing and 2. Please be able to backup your post with research or professional standards. I don't want to be stuffy about this and if you just have a great tip for fitting or something else that could be useful feel free to post but if it is a random opinion from some old timer that you talked to and you can't explain why it works please don't post it. If it is a good tip but you don't know why it works or helps then post it on the questions thread and we will try to figure it out and then add it. I have a TIG/ Stick unit and will try any experiments that I can for you and maybe others can help. I have access to most welding codes and can give you the code answer if you think that helps. I know we have guys here who have welded just about everything and