A radical theory, and leaving the world of expensive modern knives behind

Status
Not open for further replies.
TL;DR a $20 butcher knife designed in the 19th century is better than anything you own for any purpose.

I've been collecting hundreds of knives of every description for 15 years, since I was a child, including countless survival and combat knives costing hundreds of dollars. I have been an avid hunter, fisher, hiker, and prepper for my entire life. I am also a professional butcher and use my own knives that I personally sharpen for 50 hours per week at work. I've cut more stuff in more ways and with more knives than virtually anyone.

Here is a theory I've been playing with recently: inexpensive "work" knives having old designs intended for culinary and butchering use are superior to more modern and expensive designs in every way. Whether the intended use is camping, hunting, wilderness survival, combat, EDC, the work knives represented by brands such as Dexter-Russel, F. Dick, Ontario Old Hickory, and so forth, the sort of cheap, boring, plastic and wood handled stuff that you subconsciously skip over when browsing online vendors, just flat-out outperform the fancy stuff we all drool over by every measure. Here's why.