Acetylene wrench

eveled

Gold Member
I always wanted one of the knives with a square hole for an acetylene valve. They were for the old cars that had acetylene head lights.

They really didn’t use those headlights very long, so there are not that many of the knives out there. Plus they are hard to search for. “Knife with square hole”. Brings up mostly food processor blades and such.

Anyway I rescued a Syracuse Cutlery Beer Scout. After cleaning it up and adjusting the kick. I decided it was going to be my Acetylene knife. 5CBFE8C2-9AC8-4150-9225-6C9944415519.jpegBE4B697B-DF0E-47ED-92E0-C4775A90895E.jpegC0A95925-E370-47D9-BCF6-E006674C747F.jpeg3B4B2C7C-8C20-4CB2-A659-E772ED12A545.jpeg
I don’t have any acetylene headlamps, but as a plumber and a welder I thought this would be a good way to always have a spare acetylene wrench on me.

If anyone has an original I’d love to see it.

Last edited:
That's a pretty cool idea. I have been a welder for about 40 years and haven't seen that style of valve in many years but back in the day I would have loved to have had one like that. Great idea.

Nice work. Did you file or broach the hole?

Parker
Sorry I should have said that. I drilled the round hole then filed it into a square. I happened to have a tapered square file just the right size. But a triangular file would work too. I had to concentrate my pressure into the corners and keep working my way around. Being careful not to make the sides of the circle wider.

R RustyIron , sorry to disappoint you. Lol. I may have to take it to a car show and find a brass era car for a photo op. Maybe I’ll find a car owner who wants it more than I do and I can sell it.

If I had a tapered square file, I’d fashion it into a broach. Not that I can’t punch and drift a square hole, I just believe that broach making is a dying skill, and I’d like to make a tiny contribution to reviving it.

Nice job of filing it square, though.

Parker