Advice on Sharpening Damascus Knife

What Should I Use To Sharpen My Damascus?

• Electric

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other?

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Hi everyone - Newbie here. I need some advice please.

I have a 9 and half inch Damascus Knife from Orient. Had it about 2 months and it's just starting to lose the fine edge as I use it almost every day.

Should I use an electric knife sharpener or whetstone sharpener to get it back to it's original glory? It uses Japanese Damascus Steel. I have read that only whetstones are best, but then also electric sharpeners you can really control the angle.

Can someone point me in a right direction.

J

Looks like it is made with a typical VG10 core with decorative Damascus-style layering, very similar to Shun knives and many others in that general range.

I don't own an electric sharpener. I hand-sharpen my kitchen knives using water stones. Shapton Pro is the product line I chose, but there are many others. I can put a better edge on them than the factory did. However, it took me a while to develop the skills to hand sharpen by doing it over several years. It wasn't until I got pretty good at free-hand sharpening with pocket knives and cheaper kitchen knives that I decided to buy nicer kitchen knives and the water stones to sharpen them.

So for me, because I know how to use them, the answer is "whetstone" - which does not mean water stone, by the way. "Whet" just means "sharpen," so diamonds, ceramic, water stones, oil stones, Arkansas stones, Japanese natural stones, Belgian Blue, Coticules - all are whetstones.

You may not get many answers here - the Kitchen forum is rather lightly visited. Most questions about sharpening go here: https://www.bladeforums.com/forums/maintenance-tinkering-embellishment.794/ which is a much livelier sub-forum. Several professional sharpeners hang out there too.

Last edited: