All-Time Favorite Swamp Rat?

scdub

Gold Member
Basic Member
For me it’s the second generation Taliwhacker.

77C43203-C8C5-434D-8E77-E2381F19B954.jpeg
510D0C4C-4476-4278-9B36-7C304C9C354A.jpeg
I currently own about 8 Bussekin and have had a few others that I’ve sold off.

I love my two recent purchases: a Mega Swamp Warden and a SawManDu, but even my new babies can’t replace my Taliwhacker as my absolute favorite. It’s still the knife I take out on the trail the most.

It has a great, slightly blade-heavy balance. It’s light enough to carry around easily, long enough to chop wood quite well, thin enough behind the edge to zip through soft vegetation, and it’s designed to do all these things comfortably while still being a very capable fighter.

What’s your favorite rat and how come?

Last edited:
I’m still new to the Swamp Rat line. This year was my first purchase directly from Wauseon, a Christmas in July grab bag. I figured if anything, I’d keep my favorite, and sell off whatever else I got to recover some of the funds. First blade was a BG BM. Nice! Next was an Infiweiler. Cool! Then I unwrapped the third, and it was a Crabmandu. The two bigguns went on the block soon after. I love this “little” knife! It’s perfection to me in every way. If I had to sell off everything one day, this one still wouldn’t leave the house. Aside from those two, I had a Mega Warden, which ended up moving along (yes regrets) and recently got the SMD. There will definitely be more Swampy goodness in my future.