Almost totally primitive arrows

I'm continuing my stone tool experiments. The goal is to make a bow and arrow set and successfully hunt with it. I am pretty much self taught on the construction but have the Traditional Bowyer's Bible II and other references. I'm always looking for suggestions on the how-to. So far, it's been fun.

I started wth this thread on working with stone to cut arrow shafts. Here's the arrows.

arrow02.jpg

Each starts with a local cherry shaft. We have a lot of new growth of the stuff and it's easy to cut, debark and notch for points and nocking. Note that the shafts are different thicknesses. I have other shafts that I cut that are closer in size and will be making more.

Stone flakes were used to debark and notch the arrow shafts. I did some straightening but didn't use fire or heat, just bending. They're OK for straightness for a 30 foot shot maximum.

The points are NY state chert, called Normanskill. I made a copper pressure flaker instead of an antler one, so they're not totally primitive. It knaps well even though I'm not a great knapper. I can make a flake for a small knife and pressure flake that to a point, but that's about it. These points are basically small so-called "bird" points and I hope to use them on rabbits. These aren't really sharp but if driven by a 30# bow would work on small game, IMO.

The points are set in notches carved out with small struck blades. Very time consuming to do the notching. I glued them in place with pitch made by boiling pine sap. In one case (the upper arrow) used straight sap. It lost most of its stickiness over the course of a week or two. Each tip is wrapped with thin cordage.One is milkweed and one is evening primrose. I prefer milkweed. It seems stronger, but the evening primrose would do in a pinch.

arrow01.jpg