Anyone familiar with the Ka-Bar 1189 folding hunter?

I'm a newbie, never made a knife, likely never will. I have cleaned up and sharpened knives for some time, but the extent of my work has been the replacement of cracked or ugly wood scales with new wood.

I only started collecting in Jan-06, mostly Gerber folders, pre-Fiskars (1968-86). But over time I've picked up knives - one is a big Ka-Bar 1189 brass & wood folder with a single stainless clip-point blade, had it for about 20 years, really don't need it and at the moment I'm really knife-poor. I decided to auction it off on eBay. I've been trying to figure out it's mfg date, and what it's worth.

LGK4 shows seven different "brands" for Ka-Bar -- says that any knife with just "KA-BAR" was made in Olean NY from 1951 to 1966, and is "H" (high value to collectors, no necessary correlation to quality). My knife has just "KA-BAR" on the tang-stamp, so it seems to be in this category.

But LGK4 also says that a knife with "KA-BAR / (number) USA" was made in Cleveland for Cole National Corp., a wholesaler, from 1966 to 1996, and is only "M" (medium value to collectors). My knife has "KA-BAR / 1189 USA" etched on the blade, so maybe it is in this category...but it is such a lovely knife, I hate to think it is just a run-of-the-mill wholesale product, made by God knows who for Cole National.

I wish I knew for sure which it is...but based on recent winning bids for these knives, I suspect it is a Cole National Corp knife, just using the Ka-Bar name by permission of Union. If I knew for certain it was an honest old KA-BAR, made by Union Cut Co, I think I'd just cancel the auction and keep it.

Does anyone know for sure?

Jim

Jim,after looking at your ebay listing it was obvious that I own that very same knife.