Are Tantos Double Edged Blades?

In Pennsylvania, daggers are illegal. I haven't found a clear answer if that makes all blades with more than one edge illegal or not. While I seriously doubt an officer would go out of their way to jam someone up legally for carrying a tanto, I wonder if it would be possible? Technically it has more than one edge.
FWIW I don't like tantos very much and this is mostly just to start a discussion I find interesting.

No, double edge has both sides of the blade sharpened. Like this dagger. I am not an attorney though.
26037948071_26fbfcbe51_b.jpg

Good question. I'm an attorney in PA and can do a little research. I think your defense attorney would argue that a tanto really has one edge. Their might be case law on how the commonwealth has defined an "edge".

Best left to an attorney or maybe even better talking with your local law enforcement ... as in many cases what the law actually states and how each independant law enforcement angecy interruptes them can be different things.

I don't think I've ever seen a double edged tanto. The dagger law from what I understand is just that, for daggers. A double edged spear point.

Pennsylvania is actually a pretty decent knife carrying state(except for some cities). A tanto wouldn't concern me at all unless it's an automatic. That and daggers are really what we can't carry here.

Good question. I'm an attorney in PA and can do a little research. I think your defense attorney would argue that a tanto really has one edge. Their might be case law on how the commonwealth has defined an "edge".

Yes I believe the defense attorney would argue it's only one edge too. But because it's angular instead of curved it could be viewed as two distinct edges. I don't own any tantos. I've never sharpened one either. Are they typically sharpened in one motion or the tip and than the belly?