Are there actually any good MTech or Tac Force price range knives?

Okay, before we get started, right off the bat I'll be the first to admit I have had LOTS of experience w/ el-cheapo, swap meet specials years ago when I was a kid. (1980s - 1990s) As I recall, quality was a crap shoot back then. :poop: :D

But as soon as I started working I pretty much ceased buying such *modestly priced* (I'm being kind here) knives. But I'm just curious, in the last 2 decades has the quality in the bargain basement knife market significantly improved at all?

I ask because I've been eyeing several fixed blade boot knives made by these manufacturers and I just wanted to know if anyone's actually tested any of these types of fixed blades and found some not be great but, at least relatively reliable and functional under normal use? :confused:

Also, what about Pakistan blades? I remember back in the day quite a few of those weren't terrible for what you paid. Has anything changed here?

Last edited:
Also, what about Pakistan blades? I remember back in the day quite a few of those weren't terrible for what you paid.

While I have little to back it up, I suspect that either your recollection is incorrect, or your knowledge of knives was lacking back in those days so your perception of quality was skewed.

Pakistani blades were never good, and continue to not be good for anything more than a wall hanging decoration... assuming you didn't actually pay any money for it.

The only Mtech blade that I find is worth a darn is the MT20-30 neck knife. It's all of $8 or so, and pretty decent. But that's it.. no more. If the budget doubles or so, there are even better knives in that style/size that are from reputable manufacturers.

OP asked for good knives in the PRICE RANGE ... Why not read before jumping in to bash !