Aspect ratio in monitors

guys hi
i realise this aint a blade related question so forgive
my transgression but which would give me the bigger
viewing area on a new monitor im getting 16.9 or 16.10
(aint got the brains to work it out for myself)

mods if its innapropreate post please delete if nessassary
all the best mick

Just think of it as a ratio of length by height. The 16.10 would be larger, in my mind, but I'm no expert.

The size of your screen will dictate your viewing area. The 16:9, 16:10 has to do with the layout of the screen as dictated by the horizontal pixels in relation to the vertical pixels, and thus width in relation to height. The 16:10 would be slightly higher than a 16:9 in viewing area. With trim, stand and whatever else it come packaged with you probably couldn't tell the difference between the two. Wikipedia page on 16:10 shows that the industry went away from this ratio if favor of 16:9 in 2008. AVS Forum may have more detailed info, also.

thanks for the answer guys i presume then that films in the 16.9 ratio would leave a slight
black border on the top and bottom of the screen if at all in the 16.10 ratio which aint a
problem for me just curious as to which was bigger

thanks everyone mick

oh stickfred
its a 22 inch acer monitor (1680x1050 )

Ratio this ratio what?

Meh, I simply unhooked the tv from downstairs and brought it to my "man cave", hooked it up to my computer and voila, 40 inch monitor. :p

hi olde wolf
now youve got me thinking? just how dose that work
the wife,s just bought a new 32 inch flatscreen tv
(oh man she,s gonna kill me if she knows what im thinking of doing):grumpy:

Look on the back of that 32", does it have a PC input? You should see those two threaded holes on each side. Some newer computers have a slightly different type of output, I think it's digital, and has a similar looking cable, but it's not the same.