"Backcountry" movie-not bad

Just watched this the other night.

I thought is was pretty good, and recommend it if you haven't seen it.
Fairly authentic/accurate, for the most part.

One scene I didn't get was when the characters eat the leaves of Wintergreen, but not the berries...hmmmm
But I am not an expert on that plant, so....

If you have seen it, what did you think?

(there is even some "big knife" action, for those that are into that sort of thing...and the use of a ferro rod)

Brome

I will have to look into that movie.
As far as Wintergreen leaves, I chew them whenever I'm walking about in the woods. I live in Maine and enjoy the taste, strong but pleasant. I always spit the leaves out when the juice is gone. Have never eaten the berries. Not sure they're 100% safe, really. Might be.

Ok, thank you for the clarifying info.
I have not had the chance to try them, but have read about them in a few of my edible plant books, that cover the Eastern US.
I understand you can make a tea from the leaves, like mint. \
Sounds nice.

I look forward to giving them a try someday.

Brome

I will have to look into that movie.
As far as Wintergreen leaves, I chew them whenever I'm walking about in the woods. I live in Maine and enjoy the taste, strong but pleasant. I always spit the leaves out when the juice is gone. Have never eaten the berries. Not sure they're 100% safe, really. Might be.
From Wikipedia:
The fruits of G. procumbens, considered its actual "teaberries", are edible, with a taste of mildly sweet wintergreen similar to the flavors of the Mentha varieties M. piperita (peppermint) and M. spicata (spearmint) even though G. procumbens is not a true mint.

Ok, thank you for the clarifying info.
I have not had the chance to try them, but have read about them in a few of my edible plant books, that cover the Eastern US.
I understand you can make a tea from the leaves, like mint. \
Sounds nice.

I look forward to giving them a try someday.

Brome