Recommendation? Band saw maintenance and modification?

I'm not a machinist, but I've been making knives as a hobby for many years.
I have a JET horizontal metal cutting bandsaw, which is modified for vertical use with a table. I'm having a problem with the blade popping off the wheel. This usually happens when I'm pushing hard, and happens with wood or metal. Also full disclosure, I'm a cheap sonofabutch and keep using old blades, dull and missing teeth. I have tried playing with the blade tension but that doesn't help.

I want to keep the blade from coming off.
Do I need to adjust my alignment of the wheels with my roller-bearing blade guides?
Do I need to use better (new) blades?
My wheels are metal, should I add a rubber liner on the wheels?
Is it speeds and feeds? (I don't think so)
Should I junk this Piece OS? Buy a new (cheap) one?
... other comments?

T3J5I8J.jpg

Last edited:
Once a blade pops off it twist and will not track true after that . You might set your tracking guides closer to your work . Most people leave them wide .Just replace your blade when you need to. WB

Here is what is happening:
When you push hard the blade slows down above the piece being cut.
Added to that the missing teeth "catch" the piece being cut and momentarily stop the blade. While all this is happening, the drive wheel is pushing the blade up toward the top wheel.
The blade around the top wheel is now being pushed from one side and back pressured from the other.
It becomes slightly loose and pops off.

On almost all 4X7 and similar Horizontal/vertical bandsaws this is a constant problem. Short of spending $1000 or more to get a commercial metal saw, there isn't too much you can do to prevent this problem. Using the right blade with the right number of teeth helps, but even a 24TPI Lenox blade will pop off. Many folks get good service from the cheap HF blades. Using worn out or damaged blades is foolishness.

Ways to deal with it:
1) Get used to putting the blade back on.