'Beater' EDCs

I was just posting in another thread about how whenever I carry a 'high end' folder, I always carry a beater knife along with it (Buck 110 lately). I usually end up using the beater all day and the ''high end' knife never leaves my pocket so it can stay pristine.

I also find, that since I know I've got a nice knife with a perfect edge in my pocket, I'll use the beater knife for things I'd never usually use a knife for. I've dug through rocky soil, cut roofing material, scraped burrs off copper pipe, cut wire, cut sand impregnated jute netting, pry lids off paint cans, etc.

Anyway I'm wondering if any of you do the same thing and if you have any pictures of your beater knives, I'll try to post mine when I get home.

Several decades ago, I worked as a ski instructor in rocky Vermont. Thin snow conditions can destroy skis when you hit a rock. "Rock skis" are "beater skis" you don't mind destroying by ripping out an edge. If you don't have a pair of rock skis, you ski timidly and timid skiing sucks.

The guys I hung with had a saying. "All skis are rock skis." It was a call or challenge to ski the skis like they were meant to be skied without care of the ramifications. Yes, some skis died this way. They're just skis. Turns matter more than skis.

If I'm not willing to use a knife, I don't carry it. If a knife is too dear to be used and broken, it looses its appeal to me. Sort of like a Cadillac pick up truck. I don't get it.

I keep a CASE Sodbuster JR CV in my garage tool box for such occasions..:rolleyes:
John

Several decades ago, I worked as a ski instructor in rocky Vermont. Thin snow conditions can destroy skis when you hit a rock. "Rock skis" are "beater skis" you don't mind destroying by ripping out an edge. If you don't have a pair of rock skis, you ski timidly and timid skiing sucks.