Best honing and sharpening solution for my knives?

Hello there! I currently have a stainless steel Tojiro DP gyuto and then a CCK 1303 carbon steel cleaver coming in the mail soon. I'd like to get the best tools possible for sharpening and maintenance/honing of these two knives. I also have a cheap Victorinox, but not as worried about that one. I have a 1000 grit King waterstone and one of those cheap, grooved steel honing rods that I have been using. I think it's time for a change though, with the soon arrival of my new knife, and also have some questions since I've never used a carbon steel knife before.

Mainly I'm wondering if I should get a ceramic rod, as I've heard the grooved steel ones can be pretty damaging to your knives with regular use. I've heard good things about the Satori 10.5 inch black ceramic rod, and it isn't as expensive as the similar Mac brand one. I was also considering skipping the rod altogether and getting a leather strop device. I am just now learning about leather stropping, and I'm not sure if the rod or the leather strop is better for general honing and maintenance. Can someone recommend a good starter piece for stropping? Should I get a rod and a strop, or is just one or the other sufficient?

Finally, I was just wondering if I can still get by with just a 1000 grit waterstone? I'd prefer to keep my kitchen pretty lean, as I already have a lot of stuff in there and not a lot of space to store additional things. Do I need to get an additional finer grit (2000? 4000?) or can I get by with just the 1000?

If it helps answer my questions, I'm currently an avid home cook (use to be professional for several years) and frequently cook meals and use my knives 1-3 times pretty much every day. I like my knives sharp, but don't necessarily need them crazy sharp at all times. Thanks for any advice!

Last edited:
I would add a coarse stone either a 400 or 600 Chosera, The CCk is super thin & comes crazy sharp