Best Sandpaper for Steel

I am just getting started and my tool selection is limited. I am currently using files in a jig to "grind" my bevels and although it is slow its not as slow as i thought it would be. My biggest headache is removing file marks from the bevel and getting a nice finish on the blade.

What is the best sandpaper for this? Whatever the stuff is that i have lasts about two swipes on steel before it doesn't seem to cut at all.

any advice? thanks, Dan

There are several good papers out there. A lot of people really like the Indasa Rhynowet Red-Line papers. I have yet to try them but I do use Rhynowet Plus and it is also very good. I also use Klingspor wet/dry papers that come on a roll from Cue Components. I've been very happy with the Klingspor and the rolls are really convenient for knifemaking.

Bob

I use rhynowet. You probably should finish filing with the finest file you have before you switch to paper. You can get the paper from Trugrit. I use Windex to water sand. Check out Nick Wheeler's hand sanding videos on YouTube. Make a hard backer for your paper and a holding fixture for the blade. Good luck!

Ive only been making knives for a year but I have used a few different papers that I picked up at the local ACE and Lowes. A month or so ago I broke down and bought 20 sheets of each of the grits I use of Indasa Red-Line Rhynowet from Trugrit and hands down its better than the stuff you get at the local hardware. Im not sure how it stands up against 3M or Norton sheets but I feel even with the price increase Rhynowet is well worth the increased cost due to the fact I end up using less of it. It cuts much better and lasts longer. I could feel the difference. Make sure you use Windex or WD40 or something while sanding.

Jay

EDM stones are often much better than paper as they are cheap, last a long time and more pressure can be used. I use paper only for the final few grits.