Best spinning rod and reel ?

JDX

Ok so I’m new to all this. But I’m tired of using my friends ugly stik.

im looking for a spinning rod and reel, either a combo or separate. Would be used for trout fishing mainly.

where I fish has tons of over hang and bushes to snag on. But idk where to start. I’m looking to spend less than $150 on both since I’m just getting into it. One day I’ll get a st croix premier rod. But not yet

I saw a Lews graphite rod around $50 and a shimano reel around $50. Someone suggested I get a pflueger president, but everywhere I look there’s pros and cons. I never had an issue with the ugly stik I used

J JDX

St. Croix rods are great and you really can’t go wrong. If you want to try them out on a budget, try their triumph series. I absolutely agree with your choice on going for the premier series as those are my rods of choice, but they do cost more. I have plenty of the triumph series also and have been extremely happy with them.

Pfleuger equipment has been hit or miss for me in what I look for. However, every Pflueger President reel I have is great and I wouldn’t hesitate to buy another.

I have never had a Lew’s rod so I can’t speak to that but I have a couple of their reels and they make some excellent reels for the money.

My personal preference on reels is Shimano. They have a very good, quality lineup with a wide range of pricing options.