BOB Backpack suggestions

I've been a serious slacker about not getting a BOB put together. Now that my wife is pregnant I'm going to need a bag for "the big day", so I figure it can also be the family BOB.

I want it to be a backpack so I can carry it easily. Around 40 liters (2440 cubic inches) is a good size. I already have a nice Lowe Alpine 40l but it's not setup like I want for a BOB. I'd like it to have a big main cargo compartment and a good multi-pocket organizing area under a flap. I want a bit of an internal frame, at least a rigid backsheet. It needs to fit tall people. It needs to be high quality, mountaineering worthy. No canvas or other heavy materials. The Maxpedition stuff all looks a bit awkward fitting compared to modern backpacking packs.

Thanks for any suggestions!

I’m not a pack expert but I did a lot of research for my last pack (50 L range) and went with the Kelty Redwing 3100 (now called the Redwing 50). Decklin here on the forum and I PMed back and forth a bit and he also ended up going with the Redwing. He did a post of his 3-day kit contents that was quite impressive.

They also have a 2650 (now called the Redwing 44 I believe) that is the same pack just scaled down a bit which might be close to what you’re looking for. You can get last year’s model for under $50. In fact I might snag one for myself.

Overall I’m really happy with my Redwing. Durable materials, single aluminum stay, just a nice pack overall. The only thing I might like is if it had more attachment points on the outside, something MOLLE-like where a person could attach a few odds and ends.

I’m not a pack expert but I did a lot of research for my last pack (50 L range) and went with the Kelty Redwing 3100 (now called the Redwing 50). Decklin here on the forum and I PMed back and forth a bit and he also ended up going with the Redwing. He did a post of his 3-day kit contents that was quite impressive.