Bookie's Different Kniv

Yes, kniv is the proper spelling for what you're about to see. Rummaging through some junk in a closet an old funny Danish cigar box was discovered. Not remembering what was inside, it was opened and a flint bladed kniv appeared. Many years ago trips to Denmark were in order that I could give instruction and get instruction. Sword making and flint knapping were the subjects. The combined photos depict my fairly decent stone age Danish hand kniv. Don't ask me what the wooden handle is as I have forgotten--if I ever knew in the first place. The cord is NOT artificial sinew, but some natural long, tough reed secured with some genuine "stone age" epoxy.:rolleyes: It took a couple of hours to make, not being a skilled knapper, but not bad for a first attempt even though there is a flaw in the stone on one side. Appears whitish in the photo. The flint was picked up across the fence where I studied. The area had a very large stone age community and artifacts abound. This is the same flint that English gun flints are made from. What do you think?
3f744ce167.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Thats incredible Steve. Curious how you cut the hole to attach the handle?

Way too cool to be languishing in an ole cigar box.

That is damn cool, I love hand made, "back in the old days" knives. I've seen videos on flint knives and such, and it ain't easy to make knives like that out of it. Kudos to you buddy. As bawanna said, definitely not something to be hidden away!

Very cool, and I bet it is incredibly sharp, Looks like those edges would slice turnips thin enough for reading through em.

Curious how you cut the hole to attach the handle?

Axel's ancient Dansk stone age 1/4" drill, of course! Kunne du forstå Dansk?
Med venlig hilsen. Bookie

YOU DIDN'T KNOW THEY HAD ELECTRICITY BACK THEN?!

I just love it when he starts speaking in tongues. You gosh durn norwegians are all alike, keep reverting back to your native tongue and all.