Brad Southard Question

So, as you know from my other posts, I am new to spyderco. I took apart the Brad Southard just enough to remove the aftermarket CF scale and put the original G10 back on. The CF was too slippery. I was just going to scratch it up anyway, and that way it is off if/when I can trade it off.

Now, the questions. First, the scale has two divots for what appear to be alignment pins. there was only one in the box with the knife. I put it in the rear hole and put everything back together. It all seems to function fine, but is the other needed? Do they serve any other purpose than alignment?

Second, as I was putting it back together, the blade shifted to the g10 side, then centered, then back to g10 then centered, then..... You get the idea. What is this due to? How does it happen, and somehow, I lucked out when it was all tight, it was dead center again, but it is just a tick tighter than before I changed the scales. Can I back off a rotation where it is centered again and leave it, or does it need to be 100% tight? Use a little thread locker if I leave it one rotation out? Should I just flip it and lube it and wait for it to resettle?

Sorry for the remedial questions, but I have not taken on apart and put it bac together before.
Thanks

Last edited:
You lost me at "Bradford". I've never heard of a Spyderco Bradford, although I have heard of Bradford, PA. Are you talking about one of the Gayle Bradley collaborations? If so, which one?

i also have after market scales on my BS's,the a alignment pins are really not needed,i don't reinstall them on my domino's ether and never had any problem,the stock G10 has them and i think it so they can put theses together faster at the factory!so the scales line up with the knife with out overwork!you should tighten every other screw and check for center then the rest,titanium hasn't much flex to it,you should be fine.

I've had my Southard apart twice. I can't help with the pins, memory is too foggy.