Brass on the 119

Wolverine666

Gold Member
I love my standard 119. So much , in fact , that I’d like to get some other variations. The cocobolo handle with brass guard and pommel looks beautiful. My only concern is the brass. Does it tarnish easily and require much upkeep? I have no experience with brass at all.

Definitely a beautiful knife and combination of materials.

Brass does indeed tarnish relatively easily. Once you handle it a few times it will start developing a patina. In some cases if left moist it will create green corrosion.

That said, a few minutes with a clean polishing cloth and Flitz will bring back the shine quickly.

That is actually a characteristic I like in brass. It can achieve a weathered look easily which looks great in my personal opinion.

But you can take it to a high shined polish very easily.

Pretty neat stuff.

I think it depends on what your personal taste are. If you want shiney, then it will take some time and up keep on your part. I have had this 118 for several years and prefer a dull tarnished surface on the brass so I have not done anything except wash it with soap and water. HTH
iSmCz18.jpg

yes on both, if ya want it looking gold yellow and shiny. if you don't care and like the patina brownish color then no and no.

I like the shiny look of new brass. And if just some minor polishing now and then will keep it looking that way then that’s fine with me.

I just find the cocobolo/brass combo too attractive to resist. It’s settled. The knife shall be mine.

I also like the red micarta/S30V variation but I can’t seem to find any place that has them in stock. Perhaps I should look at the custom shop on the Buck website. I’m not thrilled about having to wait 4-6 weeks but such is life.

it won't be once in awhile more like every week or every other week if touched and used. it tarnishes very very quickly..just so you are aware.