Brothers Printer for Etching Stencil

Hello BladeForums,

So I just picked up a personalizer plus, and also reached out to Ernie to get some stencils made up. While exploring the internet came across a video of a guy using a Brother PT700 Printer with their Stencil tape, and literally just printing stencils that he then etched onto a blade.

Looked super easy, and give the ability to be creative and make stencils on a moments notice. Has anyone tried this? Advantages or disadvantages? Also I should probably mention that I am not a professional knife maker, just a hobbyist that sells the knives to fund more material.

That is a new one on me. I'd never heard of the Brother PT700 Printer with their Stencil tape. Watched a couple of short videos on the process and it looks like it works really good for simple text in a straight line. On the videos you couldn't see anything on the tape until the electro etching started and it went FAST! Not sure how it works for putting text in an arc, or using special logo. Now I see it can be connected to computer and graphics inserted also. I don't know it custom graphics can be created or stock graphics must be used.

I've read a couple of websites and still not sure how it works for electro etching. It looks more like it transfers material to the metal surface rather than actually etching into surface.

I am definitely going to buy one of these. Even if you cant do an image or logo, you could still do blade steel, DOB, serial #. For the price, I dont see how its a risk. Its also a label maker :D.

There are several manufacturers who make stencil material you can either write on, use a type writer or a dot matrix printer. The material is very similar to the old monograph paper (yea I'm an old fart). The stencil material is a fibrous paper with a wax coating. By writing or striking in the case of the typewriter and the dot matrix printer, the wax is pushed aside leaving a path through to the other side of the paper.