Buck Mayo TNT Issues

kawr

Gold Member
I recently aqcuired a LNIB Buck Mayo TNT by trade and I have to say I was somewhat disappointed. Very smooth and beautiful knife but I was suprised by how late the lockup was and how quickly the pivot screw came loose. The lockup is at around 90% and gets near like 95% if I open it with a flick. There is some vertical play as well with a clicking noise. The pivot screw comes loose after 2-3 openings which isnt a big deal (loctite) but still it suprised me. Now I'm just wondering if anyone else with a TNT has had these same issues or if its just me. Guessing that this is an isolated issue on my part and I may just send it in to fix the vertical play which is my only real issue with the knife. I'm still very happy with the knife but f&f seems a bit subpar for the price which is a shame because the TNT is probably my all time favorite knife design.

I have two and none of the issues you describe. Both my knives are first class in every respect. I've got one in my pocket right now. Awesome knife!! You're the first complaint I've heard.

About 40% on the one in my pocket. Perfectly centered too. I'm really surprised you've had issues.
What's your travel?

i had one that was junk as well. wobbly, off centered. certainly not what i expected.

About 40% on the one in my pocket. Perfectly centered too. I'm really surprised you've had issues.
What's your travel?

At least 90% on mine. It is perfectly centered though. Honestly I would of been 100% satisfied if it didnt have so much vertical play that is most likely caused by the really late lockup. No big deal, I'm sure Buck will fix it.

At least 90% on mine. It is perfectly centered though. Honestly I would of been 100% satisfied if it didnt have so much vertical play that is most likely caused by the really late lockup. No big deal, I'm sure Buck will fix it.

Sorry to hear all this. Is the blade play up and down or side to side?