Buffalo Bend

So, I got a veg tanned Buffalo bend from Weaver to use for some belts. Looks wonderful but I do seem to have some challenges. First, I am having some difficulty with the contact cement sticking well. So far, I have only done test pieces that have generally not bonded well with Barge. I roughed up one sample and it was better and I roughed up and wiped one with alcohol and it seemed pretty good. The second challenge is edging. I like really smooth edges and I cannot seem to get there with this stuff.
Any thoughts or ideas from others that may have used it?
Randy

I’m kind of new to leather work. So please nobody take this as sacrilege, but I stopped using contact cement and started using clear grip gorilla glue. I think it works great. As far as edging, I can’t help. High grit sandpaper? High speed burnisher? Maybe some beeswax in the mix? Those are things I do sometimes. Also, where is the “bend” cut? If it’s towards the belly the grain might not be tight enough and too soft. I could be way off here. I have some leather that behaves that way and beeswax helped.

All the best, Jon

I appreciate your input Jon. The bend is probably the best part of a hide for belts. The belly and shoulder are cut off so what is left is solid and strong. I do a lot of different things for edging including wax and powered burnishers but this stuff seems to be resistant to most.

We make a bunch of belts out of this water buffalo leather, sheaths, holsters, spurstraps, straps for rifle scabbards and holsters, linings on breast collars, headstalls too. I mean we use this a lot. Years ago we switched to this glue for all our leatherwork:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/DAP-Weldwood-32-fl-oz-Nonflammable-Contact-Cement-25332/100174435