Carbide tear-out questions

I have read numerous comments on hard steels having vanadium carbide tear-out during sharpening. I had never heard of this until recently. Are these carbides unmelted steel, pieces added later that aren't melted, or formed during the heat treating? I always assumed that blades are made from homogenous steel.

formed during the heat treating? I always assumed that blades are made from homogenous steel.

I'm no big expert and owe BladeForums for most all I know but yes; formed during heat treat. They are extremely fine (hopefully . . . if the heat treat is done right).
Homogenous steel is mild steel (not heat treatable). Google some microscope metallurgical photos of high vanadium carbide steel. It looks like a jigsaw puzzle or a mosaic.

Vanadium & chromium carbides are actually first formed in the manufacture of the alloy, before it's ever heat-treated. Subsequent heat treat can change their properties somewhat (size, hardness to some small degree), but they exist in the steel from the time of it's manufacture, formed at temperatures up around 1000°C.