Cheap EDC for student journalist

Hello everyone!

I am looking for good, cheap EDC to carry for basic use. By day I am a journalist and a student so most of my cutting tasks would be opening boxes etc., but I also enjoy hiking and camping so I would like a knife that I could use for more rugged activities. I am also planning on traveling to Europe in September so I would like a knife that I could stash in my checked bag and carry with little or no suspicion/issue.

These are my criteria:
Emerson wave, flipper or assisted
Under 4oz
Looks cool
Liner or frame lock
2.7-3.25"
Sharp steel with good edge retention
Under $50

So far I've liked at the Kershaw Skyline (I used to own the damascus version until I lost it like an idiot), leek, emerson cqc-5k and CRKT Ripple.

What do you guys think?

TBH, I wouldn't try to carry any type of locking folder in Europe. The only type of knife I might consider taking would be a basic, small, non-locking Swiss Army knife. Unfortunately, that doesn't fit your criteria.

Jim

Europeans surrendered their rights a long time ago. I would not carry a large locking knife, if it were me. A Spyderco Urban LW or UKPK would be a great choice. The Victorinox Pioneer would be my next choice. (you might also check out an Esee Candiru)

Are members of blade forums actually telling me not to carry a knife :eek::p ?!

I thought the rules were under 3" and you had to have a reason to carry the knife (which could sort of be anything) if it was a locking blade. The kershaw emerson 5 and leek are both 3" so don't they fit? Or is it really that strict across the pond?

Ontario 8848 RAT folding knife.

$27.03 on Amazon right now. There are others but this is tough to beat.

There are some nice Kershaws in the same price range.

Happy searching!

Are members of blade forums actually telling me not to carry a knife :eek::p ?!