Cold Steel the Master of Blade design

Cold Steel has been producing excellent blades since 1980. They design products with excellent geometry and strength. The CS blades I have purchased never had any blade movement with any of their triads or other locking mechanisms. I have an honest question: Why do certain brands like Spyderco get a pass with their lock-backs which have upward blade movement when cutting with downward pressure? I returned 2 Delicas and 1 Endura on Friday through the UPS Store back to Amazon because of blade movement. Has anyone experienced what I mentioned above?

Last edited:
I have seen that mentioned in for sale threads like its no big deal so I figured it was SOP for Spyderco. I am no expert but figured it was an extension of the design and not a problem except in extreme cases(hard to beat the Triad Lock). I have recently picked up a few Spidies for the first time in my life and they are nice knives but they are all so small(compared to CS). They are more of a novelty for me for the most part, pretty much carry CS 99% of the time but I can see why OP love them( probably me but I like that they make some here still).

Cold Steel has been producing excellent blades since 1980. They design products with excellent geometry and strength. The CS blades I have purchased never had any blade movement with any of their triads or other locking mechanisms. I have an honest question: Why do certain brands like Spyderco get a pass with their lock-backs which have upward blade movement when cutting with downward pressure? I returned 2 Delicas and 1 Endura on Friday through the UPS Store back to Amazon because of blade movement. Has anyone experienced what I mentioned above?
Welcome and glad you share our love of CS ! :)

Problems with Spyderco are best discussed on their manufacturers forum . But I never owned a bad one and you gotta be careful about the counterfeits , so common ! :(