Complete Novice

Hi all,

This is a combination of a first post, introduction and question.

So I have the desire to learn how to make a sword. I have no knowledge and limited facilities.

To begin, I have a council bungalow. I specifically say council, as it means I have no personal garden. I can't even have a shed. At the same time, I have very limited storage inside (till I board out my loft) and limited funds.

So, just to see if I have the determination to shape a blade, I have just ordered a metre length of mild steel. And yes, I know I cannot harden that. It is purely a cheap piece of practice steel.

So, if, with the aid of an angle grinder and a workmate I can some kind of shape, I will then start with the aim of making a functional blade.

So I guess I will have to use a processing company to harden the blade.

For the handle, I aim to 3D print the components and then make a coffee can furnace and cast aluminium components from the models.

Does this sound doable?

I guess if our ancestors made them thousands of years ago, I should be able to do it in a bungalow.

1) Does it sound doable? Not really, unless you've got some technical skills that you didn't mention, or if you're willing to accept a product of lower quality. The typical advice for people who want to make swords is first to make 100 knives. Most people's first few knives are pretty bad, and swords are much more difficult than knives. You are talking about doing one prototype, and then your final version. That is not a good recipe for success.
2) If you want a functional sword (and you say that you do), aluminum fittings will probably not be suitable. There may be exceptions for certain types of swords.