Convex hair shears, thinning shears - how sharp?

Recently came into a couple of thinning and one convex hair shear.

I've always considered trying my hand at these but have been too cheap to buy any to learn on. Ran into an old friend who has a salon and what he calls the "crypt" of old or less expensive shears he either didn't like enough and/or they were inexpensive enough he never bothered to have them resharpened. He was nice enough to loan me some in the $100-200 range, understanding I am a novice on these tools - he wants them back but "I don't care if you grind them into stubs".

Since two were never resharpened I only have the factory finish to go by, so I dup'd that as close as possible. I have zero idea how to test for sharpness on these.

I have the thinning shears to where they cleanly perforate a piece of toilet tissue stem to stern (and thin my hair out no problem). The convex shear cleanly snips wet or dry toilet paper and I nearly cut myself just wiping them off. Don't know what the "standard" is - suspect its the cut test and I'm no stylist...

Was hoping to have a better idea of what some folks use for testing (I don't have any disposable neck wraps) before I sent them back home for a real test.

Any ideas or insight appreciated.

Martin

ETA: With the convex shears I was able to slide cut a paper towel with no snagging and the blades individually will cleanly shave hair off my arm. If this isn't sharp enough I'm gobsmacked.

Last edited:
My wife works in a salon and it sounds like you have them as sharp as I get them and she has never complained and the gals she works with haven't complained about any I have sharpened. Did you do them free hand? Because if you did well done! I am not brave enough to try it free hand yet.