cpm3v has the same edge retention of 440c??????

http://www.burgessknives.com/media/Crucible$20Knife$20Steels.pdf

(Please see page 2)
I saw this graph that says basically that cpm3v has the same edge retention of 440c and that 3v has less edge retention than 154c. That was a surprise to me. I thought 3v was a super steel (whatever that means). The graph also shows A2 to have very low edge retention , about half that of 440c. I thought A2 was much better than 440c.

Am I missing something?

Last edited:
Check out this chart:

attachment.php

3v is a super steel b/c of it's toughness, not it's edge retention. But based on this it is still better than 440c in wear resistance. Depends on the heat treat too.

my opinion is,,3v is better not by the charts but my personal test i have done ,,i am no expert ,but in my test, the 3v knives i have did better than my D2,A2,52-100,an 3G steel knives i own,,this pass weekend i was able to field dress,butcher,an debone five hogs,plus carve ,batton,make fire sticks ect.. with out sharpening them or doing touch ups during the process..

First, I don't know where they're getting their info, but 3V's wear resistance (which I assume is what they mean by "edge retention") is around 25-30% better than 440C's -- see the chart jossta posted above. Second, what makes 3V special isn't its wear resistance per se, but rather the fact that it offers 154CM/S30V-level wear resistance in combination with crazy high toughness -- again see the chart.