CQC-7V

Joefairbanks

Gold Member
Platinum Member
Hello Emerson experts. I am new to Emerson Knives, but have quickly acquired 3 of them. I love the way they feel, and the "soul" that they seem to have. Two of them were purchased LNIB on the forums (Mini A-100 PDW, and Seax) and are relatively perfect. I purchased the above mentioned CQC-7V new from a trusted retailer. The problem that I am having is the lockup. It started out with a pretty sticky lock, which I understand is not unusual out of the box before it is broken in. I used the sharpie on the lockface of the blade, and it works for around 10-15 cycles before needing to be reapplied. Eventually I disassembled the knife and cleaned all surfaces and carefully lubed as to not get any lube on the locking surfaces. The lock was REALLY stiff after that treatment! So, I went back to the sharpie trick. I have opened and closed this knife literally hundreds of times (serious callous on my thumb)! It doesn't seem to be breaking in. Also, when I use the wave to open it from my pocket, the lockbar goes so far over that I literally have to use a screwdriver or other instrument to release the lock. No, I'm not weak in the hands! The lockbar does not travel to the point that it touches the opposite liner, but it gets fairly close, depending on how swiftly I use the wave.
My question is: should I keep trying, and it will break in eventually? Or should I contact Emerson to look at sending it in? I've heard that their warranty is excellent, but I don't want to send it in if this is something that I need to continue to "break-in".
I posted this question here because I didn't want to get some of the "Emerson haters" telling me I "paid too much for an ancient design".
Thanks in advance for the sage wisdom!

I have had this happen on several. Keep doing what your doing. It will take you by suprise.