D2 or BG42

Hey Guy's,i've been a lurker for a while and just recently became a member so here's my first post!!! I'm trying to decide which steel to use for a folder with a blade just under 3.5'' and 5/32'' thick,i'm a Firefighter/Paramedic so it's going to be a hard user, light prying and alot of cutting, can you give me the pro's and con's between the two ?? I'm leaning toward's the BG42, but i hear that D2 is a great steel also. Can you give me your opinion's so i can make up my mind ?? Thank's Mario C.

There are many, many others here that know much more about this topic than I do, but I'd like to give you a couple things to think about.
I believe that the D2 would be better with the light prying/strength category, however being a firefighter the knife is likely to get wet and there's no telling how quickly you would be able to attend to it. This would give BG42 the edge.
You specified a folder which indicates that brute stength is not a priority. I would therefore suggest BG42. It is very strong, just not quite as strong as D2 in my opinion. It holds an edge very well, and is easy to sharpen.
Probably the most important factor regardless of which steel you choose is the heat-treatment. This variable is controlled only by the man who makes your folder. I'd suggest doing extensive searches here on BFC to see who has the best reputation for heat treating the type of steel you choose.
(if you don't get the response you're looking for here, I'd post this question in the Shop Talk forum where the makers hang out. You might also email Cliff Stamp as he is the resident strength-testing expert.)
Good luck!
Paul

Mario,
I'm glad to see you joined in!!
You already know that I'm a D2 NUT so I'll leave this discussion with that
smile.gif

Please say HI to the other half,

Neil

------------------
Talonite......Stellite
Hand Made Knives..High Tech Materials
blackwoodknives.com

Neil! [Dr. Lathe]